Dubbing the actor’s voices on chinese dramas?


Haven’t you ever wonder why on chinese dramas the actor’s voices sound not like theirs?

Well I wondered the same thing while I was watching ‘Waking Love Up’. I saw the taiwanese actor James Wen in the drama as Vice General manager Qiu Yan and I wondered why his voice sounded so weird, since when I watched the taiwanese drama ‘P.S. Man’ his voice was more handsome-ish… Well I wondered why was that and like every confused/curious human I decided to google it and see what it came up with and I then I came across this post…

I was watching a behind-the-scenes video of My Bratty Princess ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yea9ciD5uiE )  and what surprised me was that they were even dubbing the voices of the actors that were speaking Mandarin! (Meaning not a Cantonese-to-Mandarin dub or vice versa. But a Mandarin-to-different-Mandarin-Voice dub).

And then I remembered back to Princess Returning Pearl where they dubbed Ruby’s voice but left Vicki’s alone. At first I didn’t understand why they did that because Ruby speaks Mandarin…but then I realized that the dubbed voice was more “elegant” then Ruby’s natural voice and so it fit the role of Ziwei more.(Just wanted to add that I’m not bashing Ruby. I loved her role in Duke of Mount Deer and the Ziwei-voice would not have worked in that role).

So that leads to a very interesting thing is that theses actors and actresses aren’t really acting by themselves…instead it’s a combination of their looks, expressions, and other voice actors. And these voice actors are sometimes even better than the real actors in terms of expressing emotion, tonal qualities, and pacing.

If you watch the trailer above, the actress who portrays Wen Qiang has a deeper, breathier voice and when she was saying her lines, her pacing felt off. But the dubbed voice was lighter and I felt it conveyed more emotion.

Anyway, it’s just fascinates me that dubbing is such in integral part of the process. It’s like the directors will be looking for a “face” for the character along with a “voice” as well. I wonde if this is more prominent in Taiwanese productions and HK ones (with the Cantonese-to-Mandarin) because it seems like the Chinese productions for the most part use the actors real voices.

Also, I’ve seen quite a few Korean dramas that were dubbed in Mandarin and I gotta say that I’m very impressed by the quality. The voices they chose along with the timing was perfect.

In some cases I didn’t even realize it was dubbed! Which leads to wonder why they don’t dub Japanese dramas. And if Korea or Japan dubs any Chinese dramas?

source: http://www.d-addicts.com/forum/viewtopic_52753.htm by jess22

2 thoughts on “Dubbing the actor’s voices on chinese dramas?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

A Revolving Wheel

they are all gone into the world of dramas

♪Tune Up♪

Lyrics in many languages and all genres! ~Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Thai, Indonesian, Persian, Finnish, Spanish, English, French, German and more...~ *~Pop, Dance, Indie, Rock, Jazz, Visual Kei, J-Rock, K-Pop, J-Pop, C-pop, Thai Pop, T-Pop, Punk, Punk Rock, Jazz, Blues, Bossa Nova, Latin, Hip-Hop, Rap, Metal, Alternative, Ragga, Raggie, Glam Rock, Ballad, Trot, Rookie, R&B, Soundtrack and more...~

Fanatical

Fangirling Chinese Novels

My Korean Corner

Anything & Everything Korean

pop!gasa - kpop translation lyrics

dropping kpop translation lyrics like it's hot

Departamento de Lenguas Extranjeras

Universidad de Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras, portal oficial

K2Ost

MP3 Download for Kpop Song & KDrama Ost. 320 kbps, Korea MV / Live Performance at K2Ost

K2Ost

MP3 Download for Kpop Song & KDrama Ost. 320 kbps, Korea MV / Live Performance

Ja - Ko - Ta

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Color Me CNBLUE

A Fansite Dedicated to the Korean Rock Band, CNBLUE.

EXO Planet Indonesia

The 1st Indonesian Fansite for EXO (EXO-K & EXO-M)

baekhundred

Translating & subbing EXO videos

Enjoy The Exo

Exo subbed shows and fanmade goods

Princess.of.Tea

KPOP Lovers United!

Drama Sarangers' Pensieve

Asian Dramas, Movies & Pop

KROMANIZED - latest in kpop

bringing you the latest in kpop

